It is now possible for scientists and tourist to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Scientist and tourist alike can now travel to uncharted territories such as the South Pole. These places were hitherto not explored due to lack of equipments and techniques to face the harsh climates in remote locations. The recent development comes with benefits such as scope for new scientific discoveries and drawbacks such as miscalculated risks that can lead to fatal accidents. Since the beginning of time, mankind took pride in exploring and discovering new pieces of land. This led to migration, trade and several new possibilities. In recent times, exploring new territory is often associated with the discovery of new organisms or facts about Earth, including more information on civilisation in the territory. Exploring and discovering new findings will provide humans with knowledge that can be put to appropriate use. A prime example was the age-old belief that the Earth was flat. Once a person reaches the end of the world he was thought to drop from it. Explorers travelled to the then -known tip of the world to disprove this theory. To the delight of many, it was discovered that the world is globe-shaped. One can travel to any corner of the world without the fear of falling from it. The discovery was made possible due to the explorer's efforts to discover truths about the Earth. Travelling to remote locations requires its fair share of research before starting to explore. One needs to know the climatic conditions, oxygen levels and humidity and wear appropriate outfits for the journey. With the availability of oxygen tanks, we can now carry them to areas of high altitude and low oxygen and rely on the tanks for the supply of oxygen. It is, however, difficult to gauge the amount of oxygen and other critical supplies required as no one has accessed these natural environments in the past. One has to take a calculated risk based on similar journeys in the past. Any error in judgement may sometimes even be fatal. For instance, there were mountainers who attempted to conquer mountains, but went under-prepared for the adversities they faced, and succumbed to fatal accidents. In conclusion, the availability of several sophisticated tools for adverse journeys has made travelling to remote locations an easier feat. Such travels help maximise human potential in science and physical capacity. If carried out with caution these journeys can prove to be fruitful, or else the adventure can lead to irreconcilable consequences for the individual.