In today's world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The public confronts a phenomenon in which looking younger than your actual age is considered a significant trend in modern society. In order to keep a young look, the community pay a lot of money for these kinds of services and products. The factors on it would be speculated as active promotion of the beauty industry and rapid development of technology in this sector. According to my view, drawing greater attention to our appearance and spending much value is likely to demonstrate the detrimental aspects no matter how beneficial it is. Now, I will try my utmost to jot down the phenomenon below for arriving at the conclusion in the end. First and foremost, the beauty industry gives much attention to its promotion and advertisement in order to increase its demand in the market. In doing so, they cooperate strongly with celebrities or famous figures. The companies in the sector would earn more income if their partnered model will be in the eye of the public on account of people considering them as models or influencers. Having seen the status quo in Mongolia, beauty products from Korea are still in high demand due to the greater distribution of Korean drama since the year 2000. In turn, people, especially women's beauty standards and norms have changed little by little, women like Korean figures are considered beautiful due to the influence of Korean soap operas. To reach that beauty standard, Mongolians who have different facial shapes spend so much money, time and effort, it will increase our living cost, but worthless. As far as another potential factor is proposed with the high development of editing programs, software and applications. An artificial and unrealistic appearance is disseminated to the public and it also affects public preferences thanks to the usage of these programs. Case in point, a virtual model who has a perfect figure and outlook made by the computer has drawn public attention in the latest years. These non-realistic figures lead to setting the beauty norm in society and affect to community's behaviour. From my point of view, an artificial beauty norm brings us more pressure and tension. In order to reach a high beauty standard, people spend their time, effort and wealth unconsciously. Once and for all, I would leap to a logical conclusion that the active promotion of the beauty sector increases its demand in the market while the high development of technology related to beauty leads to setting the impractical beauty standard in the community. Therefore, I strongly consider that spending too much money on our appearance has more and more adverse effects on society.