Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Many countries are worrying about people who have a lack of the ability to read and write nowadays. I think there are two main causes and several effects, which I will outline now. The main cause is probably people who live far from urbanization or rural areas are likely to have chance of becoming literate less than the villagers. It is a well-known reason that teachers are not employed in a sparsely populated area. The second key cause is a certain part of the total population of many countries does not have the natural ability to learn this kind of knowledge. If that number of people have severe mental illness, their chances of study something in any part of education institutions may be even lower. Firstly, Due to an individual's inability to acquire enough knowledge and information without the help of others, their opinion is sold and easily influenced by others who are not even sure whether he can lead others. Secondly, Universal Education is a social immunity in which every member of a social is a cell, and uneducated citizens can have the effect of bad example for their children and future individuals. To sum up, lack of access to hard skills which should be learned and the inability to learn something could be the main reason for being unable to read or write, and those people have the negative side of being easily affected by someone and setting a bad example for the next generation and the youth.