A REPORT INDICATED THAT MANY CHILDREN BETWEEN 7 AND 11 SPEND TOO MUCH TIME WATCHING TELEVISION AND / OR PLAY VIDEO GAMES. HOW DOES THE PROBLEM AFFECT THE CHILDREN? WHAT MEASURES CAN BE TAKEN TO CONTROL IT?

The fact that many children aged 7 to 10 spend most of their time watching TV and/or playing computer games was recently unveiled in research. This essay aims to investigate how this phenomenon affects them and put forward a number of solutions. Children’s deteriorating health will be greatly affected by spending too many hours watching TV and playing video games. Prolonging sitting and facing the screen to either watch television or play video games will increase their risk to be overweight as they rarely move and eat junk food most of the time. In addition, children’s eyesight would be decreasing in the long run as the constant light coming from the screen would break the eyes. Moreover, it will also rise behavioural issues. TV and computer games often promote content that is violent which is not suitable for kids. Too much exposure to violence through media can desensitize them to violence. They might learn to accept violent behaviour as a normal way to solve problems. Minors become more violent to their classmates and push them to be a bully. Fortunately, steps can be taken to improve this situation. Firstly, parents can set up screen time for their pupils. By setting a specific duration to watch or play computer games, kids will have time to exercise, take a nap, or study. As a result, kids physical health will get improved in the long run. Secondly, parents should actively participate not only in their studies but also in their leisure moment. Parents stay by their side while watching TV or playing video games by controlling which program to see or which game to install on their smartphones. For instance, parent can install YouTube for Kids on their pupil's smartphone thus they can only access contents that are suitable for their age. In conclusion, watching TV or playing video games too much may affect teenagers between the age between 7 and 11 in several ways. However, there are two solutions that adults can take to address these problems.