Nowadays,many people choose to be self-employed,rather than to work for a company or organisation.why might this be the case?what could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

In recent times more and more people are starting their own business or becoming a freelancers compared to being employed under a company. Although the main reasons for this trend are flexibility and earning higher income, drawbacks of self-employment like facing higher risk and unstable income should not be ignored. An individual who is self-employed has freedom of choice. In other words, they do not work for anyone which means they can make unrestricted decisions in their workplace. Moreover they are not bound to answer anyone if their action has negative consequences. Another reason for this trend is, people who have their own business tend to earn higher income compared to to those who work in a salaried job. This is because, most of the time business models are profitable and major portion of the profit belongs to the owner of the business. For example, retail shop owner has the privilege to enjoy the majority of the profit whereas he pays a small potion of the profit as salary for his employees. Businesses and free lancing have many risks such as Instability and loss. To explain this further, a self employed individuals have to face the loss and have to take full responsibility which can cause stress and anxiety in them. Another major drawback of self-employment is not having sustainable income. In other words, employee working a for a company enjoys a stable income regardless of the performance of the company while self employed individual’s income depends on their performance. For instance, a driver, who drives taxi may not earn single penny if they do not go to work due to illness whereas, an employee will be paid his salary even if he is not working due to illnesses as their medical leaves are covered according to the labor-laws. To conclude, even though there are many advantages like earning large profit and enjoying work related flexibilities in self-employment, disadvantages in terms of job insecurity and unstable incomes should not be taken lightly.