Each year, the crime rate increases. What do you think are the causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

In recent times, the number of criminality continues to rise annually. There are several causes that contribute to this issue, namely individual awareness and the financial well-being of society. This essay will elaborate further on this topic and provide a few potential solutions. Firstly, reckless individuals who have little awareness of their surroundings can expose themselves to crime. Especially with the immense distraction of social media, people are more susceptible to tunnel vision. For instance, when walking at night through a quiet alleyway, instead of looking for potential dangers, some people stare at their phones. This opens up opportunities for criminals to do their acts. With the global presence of social media and very little content with regard to personal safety, more people are vulnerable to crime, and thus crime rate goes up. In addition, the raising crime rate can be caused by the enormous increase in living costs and an unstable economy. Some people who are desperate to fulfil their primary needs, may resort to crimes such as robbery. As the living costs continue to rise rapidly, more people will suffer from poverty and consequently crime rate increases. However, there are still chances to mitigate crime. Initially, it should come from the individuals. People should be more aware of their personal safety and they should promote this to others. For example, using the power of social media, the threat of being aware of potential crime can be spread effectively. Furthermore, the government should also take action to continue suppressing criminality. To counter poverty, for instance, the government should provide grants and support for those in need. Another act that can be done by the government is regular campaigns. They can provide speeches to the community which encourage their people to support others in need. In conclusion, although crime is a difficult issue to deal with, there are still some actions that can be done to prevent a further increase in the crime rate. Firstly, it should start with oneself and spreading the awareness of crime prevention to others. Then, the government can also intervene through financial support and community campaigns.