Nowadays a large amount of advertising aimed at children should be banned because of the negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public concern has risen about whether advertising aimed at children should be banned because of the negative effects. Since we are living in the information age, everything is digital - including advertisements. I tend to believe that advertising aimed at children should be prohibited and in this essay, I will explain why. To begin with, children are easily influenced by advertisements. Due to the fact that there are numerous advertisements showing up on television everyday and they cannot be skipped, kids are forced to watch them. For instance, a junk food (chips, hamburgers, fizzy drinks…) commercial showed up on TV. Children, especially younger ones, might not know that junk food is unhealthy, or they know, but they are deeply convinced by the commercial; thus, this could result in the next step of asking (or even forcing) parents to buy the unhealthy food or them secretly buying and eating it. Secondly, certain advertisements put children's safety at risk. We often see either a written warning under an advertisement related to stunt or extreme sports, which can be written like “do not do this at home”, or an oral warning. It is common for kids to conceive and think about “what if I do this?”. Consequently, if children, especially ones under ten years old, perceived the message falsely and tried to imitate some dangerous actions done in a commercial, it would be a disaster not only for themselves, but also for parents. In contrast, some may think that adverts have a positive side, too. Undeniably, there are a number of advertisements that perceive helpful ideas for childrens’ mental growth or possess a good message. However, these commercials usually show up in the specific channels for kids, the majority of adverts are still exposed to children and may contain a message that kids may not understand correctly. To sum up, there is ample reason suggesting that we should prohibit advertising aimed at children in terms of the negative influence given to them and safety risks. Since the main idea of advertisements is to motivate consumers to purchase them or draw attention to certain actions, therefore, adverts surely have a negative impact on children.