Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museum is to educate. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

The purpose of museums is a topic which sparks great controversy. Although I understand why some people support the view that a museum should be an entertainment venue, I still believe that it is for educational purposes. On the one hand, it is argued that tourist attractions such as museums should be enjoyable destinations. Firstly, in terms of the economy, museums should have some interesting activities or decorations in order to attract more visitors. Not all people are interested in learning the academic details of some artefacts or the origin of some creatures. Moreover, by redeveloping the museum for entertainment, visitors can feel more interested in acquiring new knowledge. It is undeniable that in recent years, the government are trying to make study be more enjoyable so that people can enhance their performance in learning. Nevertheless, I am in favour of the opinion that museums are built for preserving old values as well as being a lesson to modern people. First, the aim of any exhibition is to teach people about what they do not know. In other words, if people concentrate too much on entertainment or innovation, this will somehow devaluate the ultimate goal. Moreover, museums are also the places that preserve many important and unique exhibits that have appeared on the earth. For example, the most expensive painting Mona Lisa which was drawn by Leonardo da Vinci is conserved at the Louvre museum in Paris, France. In conclusion, despite understanding why some people believe that museums are for entertainment, I still hold the view that knowledge is more important. It will help to pass and maintain our historical values.