Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Recently,there has been an argument that rising the expenditure on fuel will be the most effective method to solve the exacerbating traffic as well as contamination issue.I disagree with this statement because it is feasible to find other solutions. First and foremost,I try to justify my disagreement with regard to this notion.It is irrefutable that increasing the price of petrol will decrease directly the pollution level and traffic congestion, however,it will not be fair because affluent people will continue to pay high-priced petrol costs but poor people will be the most suffering segment in society.If we take into consideration that the multitude of destitute individuals earns money by working as taxi drivers,they will be unemployed,owing to this law.One explanation for this,as the expenditures on,fuel went up,the number of taxi drivers had been dropped in Azerbaijan about 5 years ago. That is why as long as there are more beneficial tactics,applying such an idea would be a stupid step. I believe that other remedies exist for pollution and the growing traffic without changing the fuel costs.One of the best ways is to construct half of the road for cyclists and walkers.In this case,the majority of people will prefer either to use public transport or cycle.It will decrease air contamination drastically. However, traffic congestion will go on.In order to alleviate the traffic problems the government should not build wide roads,it ought to encourage citizens to use one of the modes of public transportation. Furthermore,they have an opportunity to walk more for a short destination.To exemplify my opinion,some developed European countries are allocating ways for cyclers and walkers to stimulate citizens in order to avoid their own vehicles. To sum up, although making petrol less affordable for drivers will have much more impact to tackle air pollution or traffic jam,I firmly believe that the above-mentioned methods are the more effective.