In some companies today applicants are rejected due to old age. Is it a positive or negative development

We cannot deny the fact that several industries of today follow specific age requirements in the job selection process. Thus, people of higher age have lost the chance of getting hired. I believe this is a negative development which leads to job discrimination and losing potential company assets. Rejecting quality employees because of age can give a negative impression that they are not valued by the company. For instance, staff will greatly feel demotivated and discouraged to give their best work quality to the team. Therefore, it will only make the firm their training grounds to garner work experience before they will settle in a more stable organization which requires no age restrictions. Moreover, employers cannot expect loyalty from workers since retirement has never been prioritized in its business core values. Consequently, the organizations will lose valuable manpower whom they have trained and nurtured for several years. On the other hand, giving priority to young professionals can bring innovation to the business. Most fresh candidates are more skilled when it comes to the use of technology. Examples are their familiarity with the newest technological applications, innovative strategies through the use of media and the up-to-date millennial ways of interacting with potential clients. As a result, they tend to be more attractive to the labor market as several job opportunities have been looking for such 21st-century skills that tenured employees are unlikely to contribute. To conclude, although I agree that losing an old employee may lead to negative development, I acknowledge that hiring new professionals will also result in valuable contributions to the organization. In a particular sense, looking at the age factor alone in selecting the workforce is discriminating and insensitive.