Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the necessity of historical buildings. While some claim that a wealth of ancient buildings are tremendously preserved by a law system, the opposite makes a statement that they ought to be brought down to make room for new ones. From my point of view, maintaining old buildings which are part of a country's history plays a paramount significant role whereas some dilapidated buildings should be destroyed so as not to greatly deter in the tactic of development. Without a shadow of a doubt, maintaining historical buildings is of imperativeness. These buildings which express the identity of a nation are pieces of a nation’s history. Additionally, For example, Hoi An ancient town, which is a famous destination in Vietnam, extremely symbolises the ancient beauty of the historic city. Hence, retaining historical buildings is deeply pivotal in this day and age. While the importance of maintaining pre-existing buildings is widely acknowledged, some ancient buildings have to be knocked down in order to provide more accommodations and offices. The ever increasing population boom leads to the high demand for residential land to live. In particular, ancient buildings which are very small do not provide enough space for inhabitants. Instead, skyscrapers and high-ríse buildings provide enough houses. For instance, there is a bunch of modern buildings such as Landmark 81, Lotte center and Keangnam Hanoi Landmark Tower are built in the place where minute houses used to be. All of them extremely meet a flood of dwellers’ housing needs. Therefore, pulling down ancient buildings deals with the housing requirements of residents. In conclusion, preserving ancient buildings is enormously crucial since they are part of a nation’s history. Meanwhile, several tatty buildings are terminated in order not to stand in the mean of the growth of a nation.