The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by ‎almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this ‎disturbing trend.

The society we live in today is surrounded by technology and its best products. While these products have numerous benefits for us but there are tons of negative effects as well. These affect young teens in middle or high school the most. I believe, promotions on fast food should actively be monitored and the consequences should be severe for spreading unhealthy information. Initially, the responsibility falls on parents to provide their children with a healthy and balanced diet. When there is negligence from adults regarding food and eating habits, children ultimately have to bare the consequences and this is a major concern. Secondly, promotions of unhealthy and ready-to-eat products in the market are on a roll. Companies specifically target young audiences and make advertisements in order to lure them in. So, if parents don't provide active supervision, their kids fall into bad hands. For example, a survey conducted in America indicates that about one-third of the children population in the US eats fast food every given day. Moreover, bad eating habits promote many health problems. The solutions might be simple but they are important. Children who fail to take care of themselves usually fall into habits of over-eating which ultimately causes eating disorders. For instance, about 52% of teens in America are victims of ED. These effects might remain for a lifetime without solutions that are rightfully implemented. Further, obesity at a young age can result in bullying at school and in society. This can be a major cause of depression in many kids. The answer is that fast foods might provide comfort and ease in the start but the end results are harmful and can damage our organs permanently. So, many of these places should be shut down and there should be an active watch on parents who are unable to look after their children's habits. In conclusion, the rising rate of obesity is majorly caused because of huge consumption of junk food over the years. In my opinion, the tendency of relying on fast food is harmful and is leading to a future filled with darkness.