🔶Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. 🔸Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the higher levels of sugar contained in various processed foods and beverage has immensely affected the health of the consumer and resulted in lots of medical issues among the user. It is often argued that increasing the cost of those products would discourage the consumption of sugar level. From my perspective, I believe that the pricing of the product plays a major role in purchasing and using them, and making sugar products would encourage its lesser consumption. First of all, consumers tend to purchase products that are affordable to their income. The price of the product is the primary factor that determines the user's decision either to buy or not. Hence, if the price of the products containing sugar is increased then the consumer will either reduce their consumption or look for other substitute products. For instance, the government is levying higher tax rates on alcoholic products so that people can not afford them easily and they will automatically consume them at a lower level,rarely on occasions and events only. Secondly, the popularity of junk food is increasing among the new generation of people as they are delicious and readily available. The intake of these manufactured foods is creating an unhealthy habit which has become a root cause of several medical issues. A number of deadly diseases like cancer, diabetes, cholesterol and so on are the outcome of the intake of these processed junk foods. This could be minimised if the price of raw materials is increased that ultimately increases the price of finished goods. In conclusion, the major factor that has resulted in poor health in communities is the food they are consuming. People are more attracted to ready-to-eat processed items and tastier cuisines rather than healthier ones. This has led to higher consumption of sugar products and I personally believe that the intake of sugar level will significantly be reduced if its price is increased.