Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two opposing views on the subjects in schools that should be obligated to students. Some people claim that university students should only learn subjects which might help their careers or society in the future, such as science-related or programming curricula, whereas others assert they should have the right to choose the classes they are engaged to. On the one hand, there would be two main benefits that come with allowing college students to learn limited subjects, which are highly possible used in the market after they graduate from school. One benefit could be that these students can spend less time trying out and searching their interests because they are only provided a few options, which may reduce their anxiety to choose from infinite choices. Another advantage is that they may have better job prospects because those defined subjects are highly related to the job markets. On the other hand, limiting subjects for students can also lead to several issues. First of all, it would be desperately difficult to guarantee which subjects are definitely useful after they graduate because the job markets are changing every day. In this case, they still might not be employed in the future. Also, universities would not easily follow the markets and make changes to subjects frequently. Second, some students would not suit those chosen curriculums, leading them to drop out of their schools. Every child has their unique potential, which means a school’s mission should be to help students to achieve their potential, rather than forcing them to do things they have no interest in. In conclusion, in my view, even though helping students to have a better career path could relieve their anxiety about the future, some students may fail to learn from those chosen subjects. Moreover, it would be impossible to ensure all the subjects can fit in the markets all the time. Therefore, I tend to support those students following their interests and potential and learning things for pleasure.