International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Because of technology and the increasing peaceful relation among the world countries, international travel is becoming cheaper and easier for people to do. However, some people have different opinion regarding this trend, whether it’s more beneficial or not. In general, I believe that this trend could bring many positive outcome. The reasons, along with the differing opinion from the other view would be explained in this essay. The first view is that this trend have more disadvantages more than the opposite. One might be the enormous amount of pollution from the long distance travel. For example, air travel is one of the biggest polluter compared to another means of transportation. This bad especially as the world is going through a global environmental crisis. Another reason might be that visitors, especially tourist might disrupt the life of local community. This happened in some area like Bali where some tourist don’t care about the local law and culture, thus creating nuissance to the local people. This is enough reason for a country like Great Britain to exclude themself from the European Union that grant entry without visa among its member countries. The other view is of course, that international travel is more beneficial than not. One thing to know, is that international travel has happened since the dawn of human history. Some of the example are the chronicles of Ibn Battuta or Marco Polo in the past that illustrate what it like to visit foreign lands. Not only them, there are many scholars, mechants, tradesmen, even soldiers that travel the globe and were exchanging information, goods, and services. Through this visits, both the visitor and the countries they visit could both get many benefits. So, international travel might have some downsides to them like the pollution or the disruption of local population. At the same time, the upsides are so much more apparent. All the countries that ever prosper has this one thing in common, which is being the transit or a hub for travel. In conclusion, international travel ’s advantages outweigh the disadvantages.