Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The opinion of museums differs among people in terms of functionality and content. While it is true that the primary usage of museums generally is educational purposes, I personally believe that museums also can be fun places. Museums usually have been used to learn about history and art. In schools, education system is based on reading and learning from books and writing on paper on exams. Year to year, this conventional method is varied with new approaches, such as culture tours and museum visits organized by school administrations. Thanks to museums, school pupils can learn history from museums with a different type of visuals and images provided by galleries as the alternative to boring lecture notes and with two-dimensioned books. On the other hand, while museums tend to be informative places among people and especially teenagers, it does not mean that museums have to be boring and serious places. After the beginning of millennium age, a new era has been started in art history, named “Modern Art”. Almost subjects of the half of galleries represented in museums are related to modern art. In this new trend, museums have started to be much more interactive, performance-based and out of cliché places. Hence, nowadays activities have shown variety in museums and it enables to museums more enjoyable and attractive spots. In conclusion, the functionality and content of museums are still educative, whereas the number of galleries is increasing based on entertainment nowadays. Thus, museums can be used for both educational and entertainment purposes.