A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are supposed to be more and more changes in criterias to judge a person in tandem with the rapid development of society. While many people argue that a person’s worth should be evaluated based on social status and material possessions, I strongly believe that this viewpoint can be acceptable but it needs to add more old-fashioned values to be more rational. This essay is to explain reasons why I have that point of view. Firstly, social status and material possessions are reasonable ways to evaluate a person’s value but it cannot give a comprehenive viewpoint. Specifically, it is apparent that being wealthy and having high social status mean that people have some abilities to contribute values to the society and earn money. However, there are many circumstances when these rich people have adverse behaviours with others. For instance, the wealthy do not show their respect towards others, or many rich people always try to earn money without obeying laws. Two examples above somehow demonstrate that using only social status and material possessions as a scale can be superficial. Secondly, conventional values still evidently play an essential role in assessing a person’s worth. There is no doubt that when something lasts for a long time, it is obviously valuable with society to some extent. Especially, the old-fashioned values, such as kindness, trust and honour, become significantly important in a period when many other superficial values are emphasized. As an illustration for this, there are many normal and poor people who are still willing to do charity and contribute efforts to the community, which apparently deserves recognition from society. Also, I suppose that the aforementioned example is an evident demonstration for the fact that old-fashioned values are a truly important scale to evaluating people ’s worth. In conclusion, from my perspective, based on all rationales discussed above, it is necessary for people to use a range of criterias in order to have a comprehensive assessment of a person’worth persons worth.