News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

What we see is what we believe. It is a common understanding of people that news with pictorial representation in media has a greater impact as compared to just broadcasting. In my opinion, information that we experience visually is easier to memorize rather than just listening or reading it. In this essay, I will share my experience. Firstly, the purpose of news is to create awareness amongst the people and it is only possible if the message is clearly understood. The association of images with news is significant in a way that it facilitates the audience to connect & understand better. For example, there is a popular tabloid in my country called, "Jang". It is famous not only for its authenticity but also for relevant pictures published in its copies. Whether the person is an adult or a child, it is a psychological fact that pictures attract everyone and there is a higher probability that such newspapers will be read. Moreover, if the news is only conveyed in a monotonous way so, the reader or the listener will get bored and consequently would not pay attention to what is being informed to them. For instance, there is a famous TV show in Pakistan, called "The elite life", which depicts the autobiographies of re-known personalities with the help of snaps from their childhood and adolescent phase of life. Through this informative show, people get a chance to see the lifestyle of their favourite personalities. In a nutshell, it can be said that images are really helpful in conveying any message. Without showcasing any picture audience may find the content plain and might lose interest which is definitely not ideal for any news company. So, images should be an integral part of every piece of news in order to make it fruitful.