Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e. g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological progress become part of our everyday society that allows us to efforts from different places in the world. Many people believe that there are much more pros of working remotely, such as doing jobs everywhere the worker wants and being able to manage their own schedules independently. However, others think that it will lead to laziness and stress. This essay will discuss both of these views and give a conclusion at the end of the essay. There are several reasons why plenty of people think that the benefits of developing such things as online jobs affect our society in a good way. One of them is having a chance to work remotely, therefore every person can do their job out of the office. Moreover, online jobs give a person an opportunity for more independence, so they just can live their life fully and will not be interrupted by full-time work. In addition, there is believed that work should not be the whole life of a person, it should be part of it. For instance, in 2006 group of researchers from Oxford University provide an article where the fact of expanded quality of life because of changing office work to online was proved. Nevertheless, there are also a few harmful sides to distance jobs. The majority of the previous generation has no doubt that working from home will lead to losing the desire to live and laziness. A good example of it can be an experiment by scientists from Harvard, they created a focus group where people were picked up by their experience of working in the office and changed it to distance working. Results of the experiment showed that an enormous number of workers do not do their job correctly and become more irresponsible. It means that the concentration and availability to work of specialists depend on their workplace and environment. To conclude, civilization is normal and technological progress is part of it, so nowadays the modern way of working has more advantages compared to disadvantages.