Some people think watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is argued by some short-sighted people that watching television is not good for offspring, while others believe that it offers more advantages than adverse effects for the same group of people. This essay will first discuss the side effects of it on academic performance and body, and then how school-going students can learn different skills through watching educational programs. I believe that watching TV allows youngsters to learn academic skills and general knowledge. Fortunately, there are many entertainment cartoon episodes depicted on TV every day worldwide, where youngsters can spend their spare time. But they are innocent and have no idea how long they should watch for. This leads them to spend way more time than they should, which in turn, has negative effects on their academic performance at school. On top of it, seating for prolonged periods on a chair and in front of a TV effect adversely on their eyes and implications body postures. For example, modern children have negative numbers of their eyes and they are not strong as the previous generation's adolescents. However, I believe that watching TV offers great skills that currently many students learn every day. Children can watch the discovery channel, which offers cognitive episodes regarding wildlife and the preservation of forests. They can also watch events explaining how things are made. This opens their mind and increases compressive power, as they are highly receptive to learning. For instance, it is proved that children learn listening and observation skills by watching their favourite episodes on TV. Moreover, a lot of TV programs offer academic and technological-related series that are beneficial for viewers of all age groups. In my opinion, I would say that TV offers an enormous number of benefits for children, but they should be monitored by their parents as they may watch unnecessary programs for longer than average periods of time. In conclusion, although watching TV offers a few adverse effects on academic and physical performance, one can learn a lot regarding school curriculum and general knowledge. I think that parents should monitor and control their children on what and how long they watch TV.