Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. do you agree or disagree?

Many researchers and health practitioners have been warning us about how high contents of sugar lead to a chain of diseases resulting in high mortality rates around the globe. It is believed that increasing the prices of a sugary product will eventually motivate people to reduce their sugar intake thus, reducing the risk factors. However, I believe that other ways like addressing the root cause will be a much more efficient method to fight this problem. On one hand, it is crucial to educate the community regarding the risks and clinical diseases that would be caused as a result of high blood glucose. For instance, with the sedentary lifestyle type two diabetes has become more popular. Furthermore, detrimental complications such as diabetic retinopathy, nephropathy, and neuropathy significantly reduce the quality of life. So, when people are given the necessary information, they will assimilate and double-think whether to consume high-calorie beverages or food. On the other hand, government officials can impose laws on food companies to raise their standards. The sugar content of a food item can be regulated by implementing limits and if they surpass the limit those items must be considered toxic for human consumption. For example, categorizing their products according to their sugar content such as high, medium, and low sugar will allow the buyer to clearly comprehend the content of the product. So that the consumers have the autonomy to choose. In conclusion, the number of people ingesting high-glucose products on a daily basis is on the rise and it can be reduced by community education and government mediation.