Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

In the modern era where there's an immense dystopia, status has become a crucial weapon for climbing up the social hierarchy. Nowadays, people go to ridiculous lengths to look rich, and to be seen as elite. As a result, many buy unaffordable, yet unnecessary luxurious items and end up in great debt. From my perspective, this is due to the human desire of being at the top. Moreover, I believe serious measures should be taken, and one effective method would be to get rid of the present dystopia overall. The root of the issue lies within our behaviour of wanting to feel superior to others. Everyone from every social class, regardless of their financial status, possesses the need to feel superior, and society considers being able to buy designer clothes to be a status symbol. As a consequence, people borrow money, only to buy things they can't afford. Furthermore, they are praised for being "rich" by others, which leads the praised person to continue this practice. Eventually trapping them in a circle of debt. Not many actions would work, thanks to civilization being this way forever. Although, demolishing the barriers between the social hierarchy might. For instance, if everyone gets equal chances and equal opportunities, the lower classes of people will vanish. This means that individuals need to prove their wealth would also fade. In addition, the unaffordable will be affordable, and borrowing money will become a thing of the past. But, in order to destroy the system, it'd take centuries, if not decades, and would require geniuses with the abilities to reform civilization. To conclude, individuals falling into debt is a matter caused by the inequalities and individualities between humans. Fortunately, in my view, it's possible to stop! it once and for all. With the right amount of effort and participation from each and every one of us, it'll be achievable in a matter of some time.