car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The population of car owners has significantly grown over the past thirty years, not only because cars have become much more affordable, but also due to the convenience they have brought. With the rapid increase in car ownership, some people claim that many places in the world suffer from traffic issues. In this essay, I will explain my thoughts on this statement, but more importantly, propose some possible solutions that authorities can take to cut down the use of cars to alleviate these traffic problems. To begin with, there is no doubt that car ownership has drastically increased over the past few decades in many cities in the world. Several reasons have led to this situation, such as the rapid growth of the population and people's buying ability. These all boost the demand for cars. Take China as an example, statistics have shown that now in most metropolitans, there are even more cars than public parking slots. The increasing number of vehicles not only makes parking extremely painful in these cities but also creates constant traffic jams every day during peak hours. That said, what can be done to tackle the problems caused by cars? One of the most effective methods is to discourage people from buying them. To do this, governments could first try to limit the number of cars that are on sale in the market. In this way, the pace of rising of car ownership can be properly controlled. Secondly, implementing some laws or regulations to increase the cost of keeping a car, for example, rising the gasoline price and the cost of maintenance. Last but not least, working hard on improving the public transit systems so that more and more people would prioritize them as their choice of transportation. To conclude, the traffic issues caused by the increase in cars are quite normal these days. It might not be possible to completely resolve them in a short period of time. However, governments need to face them, take actions to challenge them and seek long-term solutions.