car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

An increase in the amount of traffic in many cities is creating a very big issue because of the proliferation of cars. I strongly believe that amount of cars needs to be reduced on the roads and the government should take preventive measures to solve this problem. Firstly, all individuals want to make their life easy, when it comes to travelling from one location to another. Moreover, many banks have made people's jobs easier by giving them car loans easily. Due to the availability of easy monthly EMI options people prefer individual vehicles per person. For instance, a medium size family possesses more than one automobile for their own interest and it is futile and squandering money. If the authority is stringent on the policy of vehicle loans, then it may definitely help to lower the traffic. In contrast, many people prefer to go in their own vehicles just because of inadequate transportation services in their area or maybe expensive fares. The ministry should focus on improving the infrastructure and lowering transport fares, which will help a person to reach their destination with low spending and in a short time. For example, many metropolises are now focusing on developing overhead and underground metro trains with minimal ticket fare actually helping citizens to travel through any location of cities in a shorter time. To sum up, I strongly believe that a raise in vehicle is the main reason for the increase in traffic in many cities, and it can be reduced if government start taking some action on public transport and manipulating car EMI policies.