INCREASING THE PRICE OF PETROL IS THE BEST WAY TO SOLVE THE GROWING TRAFFIC AND POLLUTION PROBLEMS.

The methods to contain pollution and congestion had always been debated. Some people believe that the higher petroleum prices are the most effective way to solve issues relating to road jams and pollution. However,I completely disagree with the viewpoint and subsequently,in my essay will explain the same with suitable examples. First and foremost, it is true that petrol is also used by scooters and motorcycles which are mainly owned by the middle-class population. Increasing the price of petroleum will add to the misery of the common man. Moreover, the rich will continue to use cars in spite of higher prices of fuel. For, example, studies reveal a massive rise in petrol prices in Pakistan had failed to decrease pollution in Karachi and Lahore. Therefore, comprehensively speaking, increasing the price of petroleum will not have the desired effect on vehicular congestion and reducing smoke but will increase the economic hardship of the middle class. It is also worth stating, that traffic problems should be best solved by flyovers and better transport management. The environmental challenges can have a solution in electric vehicles and hybrid technology while better urban planning will also help in reducing bottleneck on the roads. Studies in New Delhi, India show that the introduction of electric vehicles had a positive impact to reduce smog. Thus the alternate methods, comprising elevated ways and improved transport infrastructure are more effective. All around the globe, it is used as a better measure. Thus, it can be conclusively said that the cure for the movement gridlock problems and environmental degradation does not lie in increasing the price of oil but in finding sustainable alternative energy to drive cars, better management of vehicles and increasing elevated roads.