Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information , such as their hobbies and interests , and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful . Others disagree Discuss both views and give your own opnion

Some individuals think that why companies ask personal questions like maritial status and hobbies while taking an interview as they are not that important. These questions are related to their private life why should someone answers them.? I am not into an agreement to this, as these are important questions to study the behaviour of one. In below paragraph we will discuss about why these questions are asked and what is their importance. To begin with, asking interviewee about their marital status is important as using this information one can understand what level of dependency and risk appetite this individual have. For instance:- IT companies these days hiring Software Engineer who are unmarried so that they can be easily relocated to some onsite projects. Moreover, these young ones can be easily relocated for 2-3 years and eventually increase the profit for the company. However, if a person is married then company needs to bear all the expenses of their family which would be a difficult situation. Secondly, the recreational activities in which the individuals are interested would help Human Resource Team to involve individuals in the work where they are more interested so that they can spend more time in the company itself. For Example:- Google provides coffee machine, table tennis, pool and other facilities for their employees so that they can spend maximum time in office not getting bored and in parallel to that they keep on doing their work. This process of providing facilities to employees not only help company to grow but also make employee more productive. To conclude, the general private information is important for the companies to know personal interest of the individual and also help them to evaluate and recruit the candidate as per their needs which is an win-win situation for both of them.