Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packing. Discuss both views and give your opinions. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Opinions differ on whether manufacturers and supermarket clerks are responsible for cutting the use of packaging or whether customers should shift their focus away from goods with excess packing. While both perspectives shall be discussed in this essay, I personally believe that the responsibility related to packing should be shared by both parties. On the one hand, that producers, as well as businesspeople, minimize the amount of goods packaging is beneficial for the environment, as such material usually takes years to completely dissolve, which means that its chemical byproducts produced in the process can penetrate into the soil and ultimately the underground water. As a result, this phenomenon may severely affect the well-being of many inhabitants around. In addition, the reduction of packaging of consumer goods benefits not only manufacturers and companies but also customers. For example, if the multinational corporation Colgate abandoned extravagant packaging of toothpaste, it would not have to pay for the costs involved in this practice, which means that customers can purchase the company's product at lower prices. On the other hand, there are several reasons why consumers should have more interest in products with less packing. One of them is that this can curtail the discharge of packaging waste into the habitat. In Vietnam, for instance, it has been reported that since the introduction of more environment-friendly packaging replacing traditional ones, the amount of plastic discarded has significantly decreased by 30%. In addition, the action can also incentivize manufacturers to use minimum packing or biodegradable materials when customers shift preferences towards goods with little or no packing. Taking both views into account, I believe that corporations and customers should get involved in reducing the amount of packaging in light of protecting the environment as well as people’s health. In conclusion, due to the impacts of customers and manufacturers on the environment and on each other, they should have a joint role in avoiding the packaging of consumer products.