Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that jail is not an effective way to solve the problem, and educational activities should be provided for delinquents in prisons. Although I believe that the authorities should provide education and job training for suspects, I also think that sending them to jail also is effective to reduce felonies. Putting criminals in jails is a good way to reduce lawlessness because of several reasons. Firstly, one of the important reasons to imprison delinquents is incapacitation. Take murders as an example. This is a serious atrocity and it has a high risk for our society. Therefore, murderers should be put in jail in order to prevent them from killing innocent people. Another reason is that a penitentiary is an effective deterrence which can provide warnings to people who think about committing crimes and discourage people from breaking the law. On the other hand, educational activities such as job training and counselling should be provided to delinquents for several reasons. Chief among these is that such action will rehabilitate prisoners, which helps them to avoid criminal action when they are freed. For example, delinquents can have counselling with psychologists in the prison, which helps them reduce their anti-social mindsets. Another benefit of offering educational exercise is the reduction of the recommit wrongdoing rate, especially for offenders who come from poor backgrounds. If criminals are trained in working skills and knowledge, they will have a normal life when they are freed. In conclusion, there are several benefits in terms of rehabilitation when offering education and job training in jail. However, jails play an important role to reduce future lawlessness and protect our society.