In some companies, today applicants are rejected due to old age. Is it a positive or negative development

In certain corporations, it has been a popular trend for some time now to select applicants by their age and refuse elder people during a job interview. While some people support this trend, I cannot see how it can be a positive experience for companies and their workforce. The main reason for the inequality between mature candidates and youngsters is the pursuit of ever-widening trends dictated by society. Subsequently, it has become habitual for the community to perceive representatives of the younger generation as more suitable for work and implementation of orders and assessments owing to their creativity and alacrity with which they strive to achieve their aspirations in life, however, it is obnoxious to forget about the background and consequently accumulated knowledge of senior generation. For example, in a psychological experiment that was held by the University of Cologne, it was discovered that individuals in age 40 to 50 are more capable to make proper decisions in rush than younger ones. It is definite that when a challenging obstacle appears on the path of younger labourers, they often consult with elder professionals because they as seniors full of wisdom maintain younger ones’ motivation and lead them in the direction of their goals. This is another cogent reason for employers to desist from being guided by social stereotypes about the capacity to work depending on age and estimate applicants accurately. Moreover, plenty of developed countries hire elder people for work in major companies. For instance, it is a trustworthy fact that in Sweden scale-up companies consist both of young and aged workers, accounting for 60 and 40 per cent in comparison. In conclusion, it is a sad fact that in some workplaces creativity in young people is overestimated compared to the qualities present in the elderly and the internship of rejecting old people due to their age has only drawbacks such as lack of experience and knowledge in younger ones.