It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Children ’s behaviour always reflects what they have been taught by their parents and teachers. Since a person's character forms during childhood, distinguishing between right and wrong is of paramount importance to their lives. Some people believe that punishment is important in recognizing appropriate behaviour. I completely agree with this view, and this essay will outline some appropriate punishments, which can be used by parents and teachers. Although Some punishments may have negative consequences, which can cause some mental illnesses such as anxiety, fear and isolation among children. I believe that those illnesses can be prevented if parents and teachers impose suitable and light punishments based on children ’s situation. for example, the punishment the way of 4-year-old children is different from 14-year-old ones. Also, they should know about the traditional punishments as well as avoid using them,which are used in violent and physical forms in the past such as kicking, punching or causing some harmful scares, which had many disastrous effects. Punishment is one of the important forms of developing positive behaviour and discouraging negative ones in children, provided that it is used in the right types. Therefore, there are many appropriate types of punishment, which should be used by teachers and parents to teach good behaviour to children. In school, teachers can give children some responsibilities as punishment for example when they do not do their homework teachers can give them a leader-team role because they may consider it as punishment at first, but after they can learn from their peers. In addition, parents can set some limitations as a punishment, for example when children watch many cartoons or play video games,they can limit watching tv just after studying. These types of light punishment not only, can prevent form problems, which cause by harsh punishment but also can teach children to know about the right behaviour. In conclusion, despite some problems caused by severe punishments, they can be instrumental in teaching children by both teachers and parents, provided that they are used in a constructive way.