In some countries, more and more adults choose to continue to live with their parents after they graduate and have found jobs. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

An increasing number of university graduates who have gained employment still reside with their parents. I strongly agree that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. One of the advantages is fewer financial concerns. While young people who are around twenty-five years old, cannot afford to make ends meet by themselves due to a low salary and a higher housing costs, they would not need to expend their money on housing by living with another person including their parents. In my country, for example, the average housing cost is around 100 thousand yen per month, which is equal to half of the average salary of 20-30 years old. However, there are many drawbacks to living with their parents, one of which is the lack of social independence. Even though children do not expect their parents to do some household chores, such as cleaning and cooking, their parents tend to be willing to do these things. Moreover, these circumstances deteriorate young people’s individual minds, and they can not cope with crucial issues, including money concerns. In my country, one of the social issues is related to these people, who do not work and rely on their parents in terms of money. Another key drawback is the degradation of the marriage rate. The individuals who are selected to live with their parents, tend to stay there for a long time, and it leads to a decreased awareness of the need for marriage because they are sufficient with their lives in terms of living, and they do not feel lonely. In the rural area of Japan, for instance, young women tend to stay with their parents, and the marriage rate is degenerating. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the drawbacks of living with their parents, which contribute to the deteriorating of young adults’ independencies and falling the marriage rate prevail over the benefits which are related to the dissolution of money concerns.