People are living in a ‘throwaway society’, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Today's society is called the society of consumers. An average person buys a lot of things and then disposes of them in order to buy new one's. A high income is the reason for it. Such behaviour can cause serious damage to the environment. There are several conditions which predisposes a person to be a reckless consumer. Modern generation in well-developed countries has been brought up by parents with a high stable income. As a result,they have never lived in need and have not learned the real value of things. Another reason is that personal purchases are driven by aggressive advertisement,which provokes an individual to buy new things. Moreover, shopping malls have become a place to spend time. Additionally, in order to reduce stress and get emotions, people acquire new goods and they are getting addicted to shopping. If members of a community get rid of their stuff excessively it causes a few major problems. One of them is the necessity to recycle a huge amount of waste and build expensive highly-technological factories. Another drawback is that it is required to find a space for landfill sites. Also, things such as television and computers are a desirable prey for the homeless and bums. In conclusion,the higher income offspring and their parents earn the more reckless they become. It leads to extensive landfill sites and increased level of homeless and unemployed people. The possible solution is to explain people how to take care about environment and, possibly, impose a tax on those, who dispose unreasonable amount of waste.