increasing tax on various industries will reduce pollution. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The environmental pollution caused by industries, is a striking concern among all and it should be managed at any cost. Although it is thought that hiking tax on particular industries will have a positive impact on nature, I believe,environmental pollution cannot be handled in that way as companies will put that extra burden on customers rather than correcting themselves. Likewise,most of the industries are managed through international companies and financial stability of a country depends on them, enabling them to leave the country in economical crisis. Firstly,demand for a particular product governs the stability of that industry in the contemporary world and not the price. For instance, in Srilanka demand for polythene was remarkably high during the past decade and the government imposed a tax on polythene industry as a step to minimize pollution. Nonetheless.there was no reduction in usage as well as in pollution, and customer paid the added value. As a result, the government had to ban the industry and to find a substitute in order to save the environment. Secondly, economy of a particular country depends on these industries, specially when it concerns the developing countries.Imposing tax on these internationally driven industries, will lead to leave that particular country and establish their companies in another country.As an example, fertilizer company,which is originally from Japan, left Myanmar recently as Myanmar government increased the tax on a particular chemical that was used in the product after realizing that was toxic to soil. Instesd of replacing that harmful chemical with a bio-degradable substitute, the company left Myanmar and it was a hard blow to their economy. In conclusion, it is essential to preserve the environment from industrial pollution but the solution is not related with increasing the tax as it can affect detrimentally on the economy of a given country and on the consumers rather than the companies.