Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to new streaming services. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Myriads of people believe that with more and more over-the-top(OTT) platforms coming into the picture every single day and nowadays theatres have become unpopular and outdated. I partially agree with the fact that they would no longer have the same glory as earlier however these new streaming services cannot replace them entirely. To begin with, numerous apps and websites have evolved over the last couple of years especially since covid outbreak owing to the lockdown restrictions people couldn't really go to movie theatres and watch films. As a result, a wide range of these services have been received extremely well by the audience and many experts concluded that it would be the end of largescale movies. Moreover, the number of subscriptions to these applications such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hot start etc., has been growing significantly higher. As a matter of fact, more and more films started to get released on these platforms either directly or within a few days after their release. On the other hand, in spite of that immense shift, as soon as the restrictions were lifted, most of the cinema halls had good occupancy similar to earlier times. For instance, the Indian film RRR which was released recently went on to become one of the top 3 highest-grossing films in Indian history. However, this is not the case with every single movie, a few films did not receive the same reception from crowds because of the change in trend. To be practical, this trend would consequently continue leading to the shutdown of more and more theatres. For example, in the state of Andhrapradesh, at least 100 theatres were ceased and converted to shopping malls due to unpredictable business and heavy financial losses. To conclude, online streaming would eventually take over the large-scale cinematic experience in the majority of situations, however, a few genres of movies that present visual feast would still continue to survive.