Giving lectures in auditorium to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching, with the technology available today there is no justification for it; and everything should be done online. Do you agree or disagree with this statement and give your opinion.

With the rise in technology and online resources, online education is more possible than ever before. Going to large auditorium lectures are avoidable as everything could be done online. This essay will discuss why online lectures should be a definative alternative to students, while also considering the fact that replacing all personal lectures is not viable.  Online teaching has become increasingly popular due to globalisation and enhanced technology globally. It has multiple significant benefits which will allow students to be actively involved in their education while not even being physically present. Learners who prefer to study in the comfort of their own home may benefit from online lectures since they would rather attend an online session than going to the actual class. Absentise will reduce drastically and consequently the pass rate will be much higher in the tertiary educational system. Although there are numerous benefits to the cyber classroom, it may not be a plausible option for all students. Given the diverse classrooms as experienced in all universities, for example, many students do not have access to wireless internet connections or even own a laptop. Hence, by subsituting all formal lectures with online classes will limit the amount of learners who enroll in tertiary educational programs. In conclusion, there are multiple factors that will make online teaching beneficial, however it is not possible to exclude formal teaching entirely from the currriculum. It is my opinion that online lectures should be an alternative to choose from, depending on the individual learner's circumstances and preferences.