International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The number of people who travel abroad is rapidly increasing these days. Some argue that accepting tourists from overseas has positive impacts on countries, while I believe that the disadvantages are bigger. Some people claim that welcoming foreigners has a variety of advantages especially in the economy of countries and these benefits overweigh the disadvantages. This is because people from other countries tend to spend huge sums of money on such as shopping and tours, and such activities are one of the factors that promote the economy where people can get higher salaries. Chinese tourists, for example, have purchased clothes and daily necessities in Japan so that the average salary increased. This is one of the examples of why some assert that the profits from accepting international tourism are bigger that the disadvantages. However, I believe that there are more negative influences of welcoming international tourists than positive ones because they damage important sites and species significantly. A large number of these people are incapable of understanding local languages so that they are likely to damage inhabitants and the environment by breaking local rules to protect animals and places. The government reported that many places and species in Japan suffer from the bad behaviours of foreign people. The negative impacts, therefore, from international tourists outweigh the advantages. To sum up, despite there being arguments about benefits of the welcoming foreigners coming for sightseeing, I believe that the negative impacts are still bigger.