The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Present-day women have a greater say in any decision taken anywhere. But the situation was not similar a few decades ago. Though this radical change is appreciated, many societies did not achieve gender equality yet. I firmly believe that gender equality is the key to the success of any country. Firstly, a lot of opportunities started to evolve in the last 50 years. Girls started to gain exposure in many fields. But beneath this lies a hidden truth that gender equality is not about creating opportunities but giving importance wherever it is required. For example, there are many female CEOs for multinational companies, but their proportion is almost minute. The same can also be applied to various sectors like sports. For instance, the Indian female cricket team that won the recent T20 World cup received minimal appreciation when compared with the men's team. In addition, many societies are still considering women incapable and are not allowing them to grow. Taking the example from India, girls in many parts of the country are still deprived of education compared to boys. At that tender age, one should not feel privileged while the other is being suppressed. Another serious unlawful practice is child marriages. Although there is a considerable reduction, it can still be quoted as a prime reason for inequalities. To sum up, the existence of female voices is increasing across the world but not at a competent level to the male ones. From a positive perspective, the trending growth rate is exciting and many efforts are being put forth by the governments to educate and enlighten the importance of girl education. But there is still a large scope for improvement.