Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffice congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, the majority of big cities face traffic jam issues. Public debate has been going on over whether the government should allocate financial resources to alternative transport instead of terrestrial. Some people assert that public money should be spent on train and subway lines, whereas many others argue that investing in road enlargement is a good idea. I tend to believe that the former idea is better for the following reasons. Three main factors support the idea that building underground lines can bring benefits to the population. The primary factor we need to take into consideration is that the subway does not face traffic congestion and it runs on time. What I mean by this is that the users can trust its timetable. Secondly, one main positive is the cost of maintenance of lines and trains is reduced by comparison with public buses and roads. That is to say, the initial investment is high but the savings are worth with over time. The third reason for my belief is that this kind of transportation improves the mobility of the town. Take London Underground as an example. The people who live in London are well-served, hence the movement in this metropolis sharply increases consumerism, which helps the local economy as people feel incentivized to go out and enjoy local attractions. I admit that investments to build more roads and enlargement bring benefits but for a small number of car owners. Despite that, if public transportation runs properly, not only the number of cars on the streets is reduced, but also the environmental impact. In conclusion, I would argue that authorities should allocate public money to trains and underground transportation. Accordingly, it is generally advisable for the government to work on these projects in a more beneficial way for the population.