Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people's lives. do the advantage of the outweigh the disadvantage?

Some individuals advocate that consumer products become an integral part of people's daily life. From my perspective, these products have more positive effects than detrimental impacts. On the one hand, products on offer facilitate our daily life. Specifically, a variety of goods, for example, electronics, food, stationery, and so forth, are available on various platforms including online websites and physical stores, and all of them can solve some particular problems, which brings an amount of convenience to people. For example, COVID-19 promoted the development of online study platforms since scores of students were supposed to study at home remotely in the past three years, and in that case, buying a computer is necessary for each family so that kids are able to attend school as usual. On the other hand, commodities also have some negative impacts on individuals in the respect of healthcare. Specifically, over reliance on electronics or appliances would cause some diseases such as obesity and cardiovascular disease because adults would prefer using smart devices to doing housework by themselves. For instance, we can use our smartphones to place orders for grocery and shopping, and in this way, we can survive without going outside, which increases the risk of being sick due to the lack of exercise. In addition, long-time use of electronics like computers and iPads would cause some hazards to our eyes. In conclusion, scores of people indicate consumer goods are an absolute necessity. In my opinion, their advantages are more impressive even though they cause some negative effects.