In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals agree that smoking should be strictly prohibited in open places. I agree with this notion because of the negative effects on people ’s health and it will reduce the number of smokers. If this initiative would be successful then we all live in a healthier nation. One of the many reasons why smoking should be banned in areas such as parks, restaurants and hospitals is to protect innocent public from second-hand smoke. Moreover, inhaled vapour could cause serious diseases in non-smokers such as tuberculosis, coronary obstructive pulmonary disease and lung cancer. These are just some of the few health problems that can be acquired due to cigarette inhalation. For example, in the Philippines, citizens are free to smoke everywhere and anywhere and this affected mostly students and children having lung problems. Another reason, why the government should impose a rigorous law to ban smokers in public places is to lessen the population of smoking. If sanctions will be implemented then people would hesitate to smoke in open areas. In addition, this would motivate people to quit smoking because they are afraid to be penalized. For instance, an awareness campaign about smoking cessation in the public community is being circulated by the government of Singapore and citizens abide by this strict law. As a, result people live healthier and longer. I, therefore conclude, if smoking in public places would be illegalized then innocent people could avoid acquiring respiratory-related diseases and a decrease in the number of people smoking would be noted.