Too much outdoor lighting is a problem in many cities nowadays. What are the causes and negative impacts of light pollution in cities? - at least 250 words. - spend around 40 minutes.

Since the 18th century's Industrial Revolution, people started to work at night. Undoubtedly, Lighting devices made a great contribution to the evolution of human beings. However, lighting up too much at night can become a form of disaster. This article will outline the causes of light pollution and how it is going to impact our environment negatively. According to a recent study in England, there are two kinds of sources that causes light pollution. One of them is festivals. Take Christmas as an example, department stores will hang lighting bulbs on street trees and use these lights to create a festive atmosphere to attract more customers. Nevertheless, it is an act that pollutes the city with lights. Another one is advertising. Local stores and shops often use eye-catching banners with LEDs decorated on them. Most of them are just giving out a huge amount of light strays at night. Light pollution can be detrimental to our environment. Firstly, insects that use lights to reproduce and attract female insects are impacted severely. Without being in darkness, the lights the male insects produce to attract female ones could not be seen. Those kinds of species are decreased dramatically in cities. Secondly, birds that live in dark require only a few lights to hunt and can be failed due to too many lights on. As a result, these birds might go extinct in the near future. In conclusion, human activities that provide too much light can eventually hurt our environment. It’s our duty to take care of our earth and cut down unnecessary lights at night.