Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, people attach great importance to education. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus can hardly be reached as to whether students should be encouraged to go to vocational courses because of the lack of qualified workers or go to universities for academic study. For my part, I side with the former to the large extent based on the following sound reasons. Firstly, it is noteworthy that manual workers such as electricians and plumbers are necessary when new buildings or houses are constructed or when existing buildings need maintenance or need to be renovated. Many studies have shown that although it is invisible, humans could not live without water or light in this generation. A particular example was that when the winter came to Niigata, all the underground water pipes were frozen and it made me tired and bored because I could not cook anything so I could not eat either. This example is an illustration of the fact that light and water are vital factors in people ’s lives and electricians, and plumbers are essential workers. Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors is that only people who attend university would have a better future than those who do not. This belief could be attributed to the fact that doctors, teachers, or presidents are people who graduated from universities or even post-universities. This argument is true to some degree; however it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is that every job has its own pride. For instance, in many countries, a professional skilled staff who always ensures the safety of the place they are working such as in a hospital or in a school is always respected by surrounding people. This is because if there is no one who is in charge of repairing items such as lights, patients in hospitals or pupils in schools can not be at peace of mind. In conclusion, I am convinced that we should encourage children to choose their favourite jobs via vocational training courses which are provided in schools, as a workshop.