Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years in many cities around the world resulting in constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from owning cars?

There was a rapid hike in the statistic of vehicles on the highway, which in turn resulted in heavy movement congestion. The government has already imposed many measures by which this can be minimized. This essay will discuss the solutions to minimize the roadblocks due to the increase in the number of cars by people. To begin with, increasing vehicle tax can be a solution to some extent. This will bring down the vehicle possession by the public, which in turn will result in the downfall in the number of automobile on the drive. For instance, many European countries like Canada have imposed a huge taxes on vehicles as a result of which most people own only one car. Secondly, allowing odd and even numbers of cars on alternate days can rapidly reduce transport congestion. This has proven as an effective treatment for increasing roadway movement. Some metro cities like Delhi have used this technique to enhance travel measures. Moreover, improving the public transport system can be done by the state, which can result in fewer automobile on the roads. For example, a reduction in ticket rates can easily attract the public who are spending too much on fuel. Also, improving the facilities inside buses and trains will also contribute to increasing the use of public transport. To sum up, although there are numerous measures to reduce transportation jams, it is the duty of every citizen to cut down the use of personal vehicles as it will have a bad effect on the environment which ultimately results in health hazards to themselves.