In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crimes, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, The excessive amount of crimes has sparked many debates and it drives the authorities to take various actions to prevent them from happening. A form of this action is represented by using video films in public areas; accordingly, some people encourage this action, meanwhile, others argue it restricts their freedom. But is it really important? This essay will examine both views and argue in favour of the latter. Firstly, the main disadvantages of having video recorders in local areas are affecting people's privacy and high cost. To illustrate, The constitution guarantees freedom for everybody in society, whereas putting cameras can limit their freedom; consequently, it may be against the law. In addition to that, the constitution also guarantees a productive allocation of tax collected from taxpayers or the country residents, while placing cameras in crowded places costs a lot and considers an inefficient form of allocation of the governmental budget. For instance, some people assume if the government spend money on training unemployed persons, it will be a better investment and will reduce crimes eventually. Secondly, in sharp contrast to that, other benefits could be resulted from having those watching lenses, like reducing crimes and tracking criminals fast and effectively. To explain, a study confirmed that, the number of felonies decreased by 60% because conducted persons knew they are watched. Moreover, it goes without saying, when a crime happens, it is easier for authorities to track and catch who did it fast and accurately if they have the appropriate tools like recorded films. To conclude, due to the aforementioned reasons, we may safely conclude that, the benefits of having video cameras in public places outweigh its drawback to ensure having a safe community and supporting its prosperity.