Restoration of old building in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Preservation of old vintage buildings in cities requires a huge amount of money from the government and this money can be utilized to build new infrastructures. My standpoint is old buildings should be restored not for utilization but to be preserved as heritage. Preserving old buildings is one of the expensive expenses of the state and every year a lot of money is needed to restore them. There are several reasons behind this restoration and the most prominent one is their historical values. Moreover, old buildings not only have an artistic appeal but also are long-lasting. If we preserve them properly they can serve us for more hundred years. I personally believe that, if old houses are given proper care and maintenance they will serve us with the specific purpose they are used for. Furthermore, they will enhance the beauty of the cities with vintage ambience and will attract more tourists. For example, the city of Melbourne is still using so many restored buildings from the past and they provide a beautiful vintage feeling. In modern city lives, using a lot of money to build new houses and roads is necessary. Although old buildings can be used for several purposes new houses needed to be built to fulfil other purposes. Modern city life can not be confined only to old buildings and roads new ones are needed. However, it is difficult for the government to preserve old ones and create new infrastructures. It can be possible if the government properly utilizes the resources and manpower it has. Government and citizens should work hand in hand to build new ones and restore old ones. To conclude, preserving old buildings can be expensive but because of their appeal and values government should get concerned to ensure proper preservation and utilization of them.