some people think that government should spend more money on sports facilities for top athlete. Others ague that this money sould be spent on sports facilities for ordnary people. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Throughout history, athletic competitions play an important role in bringing fame to many countries. Hence, it is debatable whether governments should invest in sports facilities for top athletes, while others argue that parts of the financial investment should be used to build fitness centres for the public. Personally, I agree with the latter opinion and this essay will discuss both views. Firstly, many top athletes are trained properly to compete in international competitions, therefore they bring to their countries not only medals but more importantly, fame and reputation. Only a few countries around the world is well-known for sports. This is because the governments sponsor potential players on training in terms of hiring mentors and providing equipment. For example, Brazil is famous for international sports events as they have achieved gold medals and cups, especially in football. However, nowadays most sponsorships are given to contestants by sports fashion companies and private associates. Secondly, the government budget should not only spend on top athletes; however, public's health should be taken into account as well. Many regions started this scheme not long ago by placing equipment in parks and playgrounds, therefore the result in a decline in obesity, heart disease, and other health-related issues in the community. For example, statistically, the chance of getting stroke drops by 30 per cent if a person spends 10 minutes exercising every day. For such benefits, therefore, the governmental authorities should provide sports facilities to encourage the public to improve their health status. In conclusion, although training top sports players to compete in international events is important to a country, I suppose that the government should also pay more attention to the community's health as people are facing high risks of getting obesity and other diseases.