In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

The fact that many graduated students nowadays do not want to have employment is a popular phenomenon in many nations. This is considered to stem from some apparent reasons and I can give some solutions to tackle this. To begin with, this circumstance is supposed to be attributable to the unrealistic expectation about the career path of post-graduate students. Specifically, there seem to be a lot of factors at universities, such as methods of teaching and ways of conveying messages, which lead individuals to have the thought that provided they are highly qualified, they can absolutely have a significantly well-paid job. Especially, in tandem with the rapid development of communications, there are a variety of influencers on social media who have an extremely high income, which gradually misleads graduates about reality. As a result, when they truly come to the labour market and receive offers from recruiters, which do not the same as they expect before, they will easily feel disappointed and not want to have that occupation. However, I do believe there are still some rational solutions to cope with this issue. First and foremost, universities can focus more on providing students with work orientation knowledge. Therefore, graduates can have their own career development directions and have a clear understanding of how the labour market operates, so that they can make appropriate decisions when graduating. For instance, universities are able to organize orientation programs involving experts and their alumni, or job fairs for students to have more opportunities to approach prestigious recruiters. From my perspective, the aforementioned solutions are completely reasonable, which helps balance the labour demand and supply, as well as not waste the wisdom of highly qualified students. In conclusion, setting high expectations seems to be the main reason why there are many excellent graduates being unemployed in many nations. However, I suppose that universities play an important role in orienting students to have enough knowledge and experience to make rational decisions.