Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Overcoming poverty has been one of the key and possibly most challenging issues of our time. Some believe that the most efficient way of overcoming it is by encouraging continuous financial support from wealthier states, while others disagree and think that richer countries should address the problem of poverty in different ways. This essay will argue that provision of the financial aid can only partially reduce poverty and explains what other solutions should be exploited. To start with, third-world countries, whose population suffers from severe economic hardships, often receive considerable amounts of funds through donations and charity organisations to solve urgent problems mainly related to the lack of food and water supplies and first aid. Furthermore, international subsidies contribute to covering government debts and investment in the development of such industries as infrastructure, education, and medicine, but a regular influx of funds in underdevelopment states often leads to corruption. The most recent example of Ukraine demonstrated how millions of dollars transferred to support a state in an extreme state of poverty and war, were embezzled by the government representatives and, consequently, essential resources did not reach people in need. Thus, although it is evident that financial aid can contribute to reducing poverty to some extent, it cannot completely eradicate it. It can be argued that there is no obvious panacea, nevertheless, there are certain types of initiatives, which if implemented, could benefit poverty -stricken societies in the long run. For instance, sponsorship of educational programmes for young professionals who can then use the acquired skills and expertise to serve their own community and contribute to its development. Another way to improve economic conditions could be by establishing peace. Ending war means that budgets allocated to cover the cost of conflict can be used to deliver public services. It also reduces risks faced by the most vulnerable communities. For example, the establishment of a United Nations peacekeeping operation in Cambodia in 1992 helped to forge stability within the country and grow its middle class. As a result, the country’s poverty rate significantly dropped. To conclude, there are different ways that the world could resolve poverty and cash is one of the most popular ones. However, in my opinion, the best solution would be an investment in long-term projects that could enhance peace and increase the level of education.