Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, to deal with increasing traffic and pollution problems, some consider that raising the price of fuel is the best method. However, I am of the opinion that I don't really agree that it is the best way and believe there are still some other solutions. To be honest, it cannot effectively serve a purpose. Firstly, a number of people regard their car as a bare necessity. Therefore, no matter how much the oil price rises, they are still willing to drive although they will spend more money on fuel. Moreover, it just can have an effect on specific groups. The rich, for instance, are too rich to care about money, while, in terms of the working class, the higher price may make quite an impact on them. Thus, this method just influences specific people. Personally, some solutions also can be used such as imposing a higher percentage levy on vehicles and encouraging people to take public transportation by offering bonus points. The main reason for growing traffic and pollution is that there are so many vehicles which cause our environment to be polluted. Therefore, if the government can reduce the number of cars by taxing drivers, it may make their driving inclination decrease. Alternatively, the government can offer some reward points to those who are willing to take a bus or MRT instead of driving. Due to it, people may have more preferences for using the public transport system. In conclusion, nowadays, there are a variety of ways that can solve those problems. No matter what the solution is, if it can work out, it is an effective approach.