The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the increasing population of the city, many companies set almost the same commute time. Therefore, it could cause the problem of traffic jams. I do not agree that the best way for governments to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport every time. I think providing free public transport all day has some disadvantages. First, it could cause a waste of resources. Since congestion is unlikely to occur often throughout the day, it almost happens at particular times when people usually go to work in the morning and go off work in the afternoon. Hence, there are not many people who take public transport at other times. Second, offering a free ticket cannot attract more people to take public transport. If taking a bus or a subway to somewhere costs more time than taking a car, many people may choose to take a car because current people first want to choose convenience and they do not want to spend much time on the way. On the other hand, if the government provides free tickets for public transport, it could reduce the volume of traffic on the roads sometimes and people may spend less time going to work. And it could reduce carbon emissions when more people choose public transport to go to the company. In conclusion, providing free public transport is not necessarily the best way to solve the traffic congestion problem. But it also has some advantages.